Eesti Stratigraafia Komisjon (ESK)
start page |

Eesti Geoloogia Selts

11. Baltic Stratigraphical Conference takes place in Estonia in 2024

More info and registration:


Stratigraphy and ESK

Stratigraphy (from Latin stratum + Greek graphia) is a branch of geology, which studies rocks and sediments forming the Earth′s crust,  organizing them into distinctive units in order to establish their distribution and relationship in space and their succession in time. Stratigraphical knowledge is best expressed by geologic time scales and correlation charts that are essential for interpreting geological history, for geological mapping, mineral prospecting and various other fields of Earth Sciences. Internationally, stratigraphical nomenclature and terminology is managed by the International Commission on Stratigraphy (ICS).


Estonian Commission on Stratigraphy (ESK, Eesti Stratigraafia Komisjon) is a national body of experts in stratigraphy, affiliated with the Geological Society of Estonia. The aim of the Commission is to support stratigraphical service and co-ordinate stratigraphical studies in Estonia. Stratigraphical service includes establishment and/or approval of formal stratigraphic units, compilation on stratigraphical schemes and correlation charts, advancment of corresponding terminology and providing expertise for scientists, applied geologists and general public.

On January 9, 2024, the Commission was affirmed effective until March 22, 2025:

  • Olle Hints (Chair, Tallinn University of Technology)
  • Tavo Ani (Geological Survey of Estonia)
  • Mariliis Aren (Geological Survey of Estonia)
  • Tiit Hang (Tartu University)
  • Dimitri Kaljo (Tallinn University of Technology)
  • Andres Marandi (Geological Survey of Estonia)
  • Tõnu Meidla (Tartu University)
  • Peep Männik (Tallinn University of Technology)
  • Siim Nirgi (Geological Survey of Estonia)
  • Tõnn Paiste (Tartu University)
  • Kuldev Ploom (Geological Survey of Estonia)
  • Ivo Sibul (Estonian Land Board)
  • Alvar Soesoo (Geological Survey of Estonia, Tartu University, Tallinn University of Technology)
Eesti Stratigraafia Komisjon 2006-2023.
Siin lehel leiduvad materjalid on kõigile vabaks kasutamiseks vastavalt Creative Commons CC-BY litsentsile